[First Impressions] Sucre ~sweet and charming time for you.~

I expelled way too many expletives just trying to keep myself calm while reading this game.

Sucre ~sweet and charming time for you.~ is GIGA’s latest game written by ねこにゃん and 白羽奈尾 with character art by choco chip. I forgot to mention this in my previous post, but both your diary and Sucre will be released on September 22, 2011. That’s one too many eroge for me to handle yo ;_;

Anyway, onto the story. Joushima Keiichi is a down-on-his-luck guy, having stopped from college and being unemployed. Living with his childhood friend Miharu, he lives his days searching for a job, preferably involving cooking. He’s a pretty good cook, and as such wants to use that skill in his job. So one day while walking around exhausted and hungry, he stumbles upon a café by the roof of a building called Riverlight.

Here he meets the owner, Amakawa Chizuru. After a few days of visiting her and an encounter with a fairly disgruntled customer, he decides to help her out and work as a cook for Riverlight.

Well I’ll cut the synopsis short on this one, especially since it would be better if you read it yourself. It’s a pretty good read for a trial. Well-balanced story composition; the humor doesn’t wash away the drama and vice versa. When the drama hits, your heartstrings would be pulled even if it’s just a little. There are also some really interesting bombshells that rain upon you once in a while, and they help you grip into the story hard. Another thing that really caught me here would be that it isn’t a school setting at all. In this manner it feels more mature of a story as opposed to where everyone is a student.

The characters are a nice bunch. By nice I mean a whole lot of nice. There’s a variety of them, from your slightly donkan protagonist to your tsundere Meika to that somewhat creepy but nice okama. Yes, there’s an okama. But he’s a nice guy, so don’t worry about him much. Their personalities aren’t that bad either. Miharu’s pretty childish for her age, Chizuru’s a kind ditz, Sayoko gives off the cool, teasing onee-san archetype, and Ai snarks you to death. It’s pretty wide range.

The art is no less that beautiful. Wonderful and hawt character designs for the girls, fairly detailed backgrounds, cute uniforms, etc. The only complaint that I have would be the scaling of the sprites and backgrounds. This is apparent when they’re zooming in on a character and both sprite and background pixellate. I’m not sure if it’s my laptop or the trial itself, but I guess it’s an easily forgivable thing.

Music was so-so in my opinion. There are some standout upbeat tracks, but I felt the dramatic/sad ones were a bit lacking. Although the scenes themselves do make up for the slight lack of musical atmosphere, it could have been better.

Special mention goes to the game interface. Everything’s so compact~ Save/Load panel to your right, configuration to your left. Well, it seems pretty shallow for some, but that layout alone really helped streamline the game in terms of number of menus.

Overall, this trial exceeded my expectations. Sure I had my hopes ready after hearing that it had subtle and mature undertones, but it really outdid itself even for a trial. I sure hope that this atmosphere would sustain itself until the end of the full release. Sucre is in my top priority list.

3 responses to “[First Impressions] Sucre ~sweet and charming time for you.~

  1. 1. you know before I read you mentioning GIGA, I saw the screenshots and I was like, “oh GIGA made this?” cause the UI is so… GIGA.

    2. having stopped from college and being unemployed. …he lives his days searching for a job, preferably involving cooking ← sounds like me within <1 year's time www. THIS THESIS. THIS THESIS. THIS THESIS. THIS THESIS. THIS THESIS. THIS THESIS.

    3. I should try this.

  2. Ah Seele. Right on my heels with the trials I see.

    September is scary! Too much stuff to play

Leave a Reply

